JON G. DOLSON
SHEBOYGAN COUNTY CLERK
508 New York Avenue, Rm 129
Sheboygan, WI 53081
Telephone: (920) 459-3003
Office Hours: Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
(The Office is open during the noon hour)
Marriage licenses are issued by the County Clerk's Office.
Applications are accepted weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
Both parties must be present to apply for a marriage license.
No appointment is necessary.
Required documents must be presented a the time of application.
Application fee of $85.00 is due at the time of application.
Please plan ahead---Bring all required documents with you; and arrive no later than 4:30 p.m. in order to allow enough time for processing your marriage license.
Completed license is issued following the 6-day waiting period.
License can be picked up anytime between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION
The following regulations are governed by the laws of the State of Wisconsin. (Wisconsin Statutes, Chapter 765) The regulations are the same statewide. The cost of a Marriage License and Waiver Fee, however, will vary from County to County.
WHEN TO APPLY:
Application should be made at least 6 days before, but not more than 30 days before the marriage date. If the couple should be unable to apply within the required time, the County Clerk may waive the waiting period.
It is recommended that couples apply for their license two to three weeks before their wedding date. If necessary, a form requesting that the 6-day waiting period be waived must be completed and an additional fee of $25.00 must be paid. Please see License Facts below for details.
Residents of Wisconsin must make application in the county where one or both parties have resided for the past 30 days. With that license they can be married anywhere in the State of Wisconsin. Applicants that do not reside in Wisconsin must make application in the county where the marriage will take place.
All applicants must provide proof of their current address. Drivers License is preferred, but we will also accept as proof of address: a personal check, utility bill, rent receipt, or other similar item, but not personal handwritten mail. Both parties must provide proof even if they reside at the same address.
All applicants need to have a photo ID such as a Drivers License, Passport or Resident Alien Card.
Every person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry if otherwise competent. Persons 16-17 years old may marry only with written consent of their parents, guardian or custodian.
All applicants are required to present a Certified Birth Certificate or Resident Alien Card. A Certified Birth Certificate has a raised seal from the State or County where they were born. (Hospital Certificates and Notification of Birth registration forms are NOT legal documents and are not acceptable.)
Applicants under the age of 18 must have written consent. Both parents must sign, even if they are divorced, unless one parent proves sole legal custody. The written consent must be given before the County Clerk under oath. Persons signing the consent form must present identification. A photo ID is preferred.
If an applicant has been married before, they must provide proof that the last marriage has ended. If the last marriage ended in divorce, the divorce must be FINAL for at least 6 months regardless of where the action took place.
Applicants that have been previously married must present a death certificate, legal annulment or a divorce judgment from their last marriage. An annulment issued by a church or religious organization is NOT a legal annulment and is NOT acceptable. The divorce judgment is usually part of the "Findings of Fact OR Conclusion of Law". The judgment must be signed and must indicate the date the action was final. A divorce must be final for at least 6 months before either party can be married regardless of where the judgment took place.
Applicants are required to supply the following information; however, formal documentation is not necessary. Some items of information are strictly confidential and collected for statistical purposes only. Those items are marked on the list below. In addition, your current address is also confidential information, but it can be released to law enforcement officers who present a written request.
Social Security Number - Confidential
Telephone Number - Confidential
Number of Previous Marriages
Race - Confidential
Highest Level of Education - Confidential
Parents Names, including mother's maiden name
Date and Location of Intended Marriage
Name of Person Performing the Wedding Ceremony
Address and Phone Number of Officiating Person
Waiting Period: There is a 6-day waiting period from the date that the application is made until the license becomes effective. Waiver of the 6-day waiting period can be granted for extenuating circumstances and a fee of $25.00 will be charged in addition to the regular license fee. An "extenuating circumstance" is considered out of state residency, military related, health/medical circumstances, or out of area college enrollment, and is at the sole discretion of the county clerk. A waiver will not be granted to anyone under the age of 18.
Expiration Date: The license is valid for 30 days from the effective date and the marriage must take place within that period of time. If the marriage does not occur within the 30-day period, a new license must be obtained and fees collected again.
Fees: The license application fee is $85.00 Payment: Our office accepts cash or check.
For debit and credit cards please contact the County Clerk Office.